Denomination of Origin of Tequila Copy

The denomination of Origin includes the whole State of Jalisco(that is where the town of Tequila is located) and parts of the following states: Nayarit, Guanajuato, Michoacán and Tamaulipas. Most of the producers are located in Jalisco and that is where the majority of the tequila is produced. This is why you will find a lot more references to Jalisco vs. the other states when someone is talking about tequila.

Denominations and appellations can set other kinds of qualifying criterias for ingredients, special processes and other limitations to further control the quality.

In the world of tequila, the quality control applies to 3 major elements:

  1. There is a certain place where tequila can be produced – this would be Jalisco and parts of 4 other states as discussed
  2. Only certain Authorized Producers can produce tequila 
  3. There is a certain plant that can be used to produce tequila / this is the blue agave or agave tequilana Weber